LaGuardia Community College Minutes of the Senate Meeting May 28, 2008

Present: M. Abreu, A. Adil, C. Baldonedo, N. Berke, R. Cadeau, J. Cantwell, S. Castillo, D. Davidson (until 2:45pm) & L. Rizo (for D. Davidson after 2:45pm), F. Egger-Sider, J. Georgantziki, M. Glick, J.G. Ianni, F. Islam, E. Johmann, R. Kahn, J. Karlen, S. Khan, A. Okomba (for W. Kurzyna), T. Litvay-Sardou (until 3:25pm), M. Conde (for T. Litvay-Sardou after 3:25pm), N. Malik, S. Mettler, C. Rauscher (for E. Murray), R. Octaviano, A. Pappas, G. Richmond, R. Bandelt (for E. Rivas), C. Sterling-Deer, L. Teplin, A. Tucker

Ex-officio:

Absent: R. Butler, L. Capuano-Vella, T. Coogan, A. Khan, T. Nguyen, M. Vega, H. Zhao **Excused:** M. Hall, D. Patterson

Nota Bene: For each action summarized in these minutes, the set consisting of those senators who participated in the action forms a subset of those listed as "Present". The specific vote of each senator that participated in an action is contained in the summaries. Unless otherwise noted, the Chairperson abstains from all votes.

Chairperson Teplin called the meeting to order at 2:35 p.m. in room E 500.

I. Approval of Minutes for May 14, 2008

By general consent, the Senate approved the draft version of the minutes of the Senate meeting held on May 14, 2008 with corrections. A revised version including corrections will be sent out college wide. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action, except for Senators Cadeau & Sterling-Deer.

II. Report from the Chairperson

Chairperson Teplin informed the Senate that there are 8 candidates for the Adjunct Senator and Alternate positions. As soon as results of the election are tallied everyone will be notified. She also announced that since the Student Government has been authorized to fill student vacancies they have filled three student seats that are present at this meeting. After consultation with the Executive Committee, they decided to choose from the pool of new Senator-elects for next year. She welcomed the three new student senators, Joanna Georgantziki, Fahimul Islam, & Nayeem Malik. Chairperson Teplin also presented the 2008-2009 Senate Meeting Calendar to the Senate. By general consent, the Senate approved the 2008-2009 Senate Meeting Calendar. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action, except for Senators Cadeau & Sterling-Deer.

III. Senate Resolution on Consultation

It was moved and seconded to approve Vice President Katopes's plan to abolish the Computer Information Systems Department and redistribute the programs and faculty to the Mathematics, Humanities, Accounting & Managerial Studies and Natural & Applied Sciences Departments. At this point, Chairperson Teplin gave the Chair over to Vice Chairperson Baldonedo (3:01 PM). The motion failed with 11 votes against, 15 abstentions and 0 votes in favor. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action, except for Senators Baldonedo, Cadeau & Sterling-Deer. Vice Chairperson Baldonedo gave back the Chair to Chairperson Teplin (3:03PM). After a long discussion in which several Senators had to leave it was moved and seconded to approve the following resolution:

WHEREAS the Senate, understanding its responsibility as stated in the College Governance Plan, Article 1, Section 1, Paragraph E, to formulate, determine, and review policies pertaining to the welfare of Faculty, Staff, and Students, AND, as it views consultation as involving the free exchange of points of view and constructive discussion of possible differences, AND FURTHER, as it is deemed essential by this body that it have sufficient information and relevant data well in advance of any decision significantly affecting the welfare of Faculty, Staff and Students, AND, as a clear understanding and thoughtful consideration of such complex data requires a reasonable period of time, IT IS RESOLVED that the Senate and the Administration meet to determine how to achieve consultation on significant issues (including, but not limited to, the creating, closing, and restructuring of a department or division), with the provision of relevant information and data in a timely manner.

The motion passed with 21 in favor and none opposed. Senator Sterling-Deer and Alternate Senator Conde abstained. All senators listed as present for the meeting participated in this action, except for Senators Georgantziki, Glick, Islam, & Malik.

IV. Forum on Senators' Rights & Responsibilities

Chairperson Teplin began a discussion of Senators' rights & responsibilities, which continued until quorum was lost at 4:15pm.

With the loss of quorum, the meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Anthony Pappas Secretary College Senate

Nota Bene: The Senate approved this final version of these minutes during its meeting of September 24, 2008.